|
||||||||
On Fri, 28 Jan 2005 13:12:15 -0800, Jeffrey Goldberg <jeffrey at goldmark dot org> wrote: > > > The other question is why are you connecting to bluemidnight.com? > > That is precisely what I would like to know. > This could be a coincidence, and/or completely and totally unrelated, but in the last 3 days I've seen a huge increase in SSH brute force attempts on two systems that have to have SSH opened to the world for open source projects (for CVS without using pserver). Many people see these attempts all the time, though I don't see them much at all. The vast majority of the attacking hosts are webmail systems of some sort (or that's what they have running on port 80), and some new vulnerabilities in some webmail packages were recently discovered. My guess is compromised systems that attackers are using to attempt to compromise other systems. The commonality between the IP in question here and what I've seen recently is they all are running some sort of (what appears to be, in this case) open source webmail. Yeah I know the src is 22, not dst, but thought I'd at least share that after seeing more of these pathetic attempts this afternoon. -Chris |