[ previous ] [ next ] [ threads ]
 From:  Richard StClair <stclair at niue dot nu>
 To:  "Steve Thomas" <sthomas at consultant dot com>
 Cc:  m0n0wall at lists dot m0n0 dot ch, "Michael Riglin" <Michael dot Riglin at shaw dot ca>
 Subject:  Re: [m0n0wall] Prebuilt Hardware for m0n0wall
 Date:  Sun, 3 Jun 2007 12:14:41 -1100
Just following up on this.....This has been bugging me since you guys 
were talking about it.

I know somebody who lives in San Jose about three blocks from where 
Siliconkit's website says their offices are. They were away on vacation 
and when they got back I asked them to go look in person to see what 
they're all about.

There is a picture on Siliconkit's website of a very modern looking 
*nice* office building with cars in the parking lot etc.

But an actual eyeball inspection of their address is very different.

It is a house. In a somewhat OK neighborhood. The lawn has died. There 
is a car in the driveway that looks like it hasn't been driven in a 
long time.

No signs of life. My friend is going to go back tomorrow and see if 
they can find somebody at this HOUSE.

So I'm not sure what the deal is....but at a bare minimum, they have 
misrepresented their office location/building on their website.

I mean it's perfectly OK to do mail order out of your home. Lots of 
people doing it. But why lie about it?


On May 24, 2007, at 18:24, Steve Thomas wrote:

>  I agree with Chris's warnings in general.
> siliconkit.com is the vendor I bought my WRAP parts
> from last year and everything arrived fine and on time.
> Good to be cautious with these small vendors though.
>   ----- Original Message -----
>   From: "Michael Riglin"
>   To: m0n0wall at lists dot m0n0 dot ch
>   Subject: RE: [m0n0wall] Prebuilt Hardware for m0n0wall
>   Date: Thu, 24 May 2007 21:34:07 -0500
>   Agreed. But desperate times (i.e. lack of available WRAP boards out
>   there)
>   call for desperate measures.
>   ;-)
>   Actually, I did check that out beforehand and www.siliconkit.com is
>   redirected to the URL shown in the original message, and a WHOIS of
>   the
>   domain registrant showed me a match to the company, and that it was
>   registered back in October of 2001.
>   Of course common sense, company background checks, customer feedback
>   and due
>   diligence is implied with any online transaction.
>   P.S. Chris, thanks for all of your great input on this list.
>   -----Original Message-----
>   From: Chris Buechler [mailto:cbuechler at gmail dot com]
>   Sent: Thursday, May 24, 2007 6:29 PM
>   Cc: m0n0wall at lists dot m0n0 dot ch
>   Subject: Re: [m0n0wall] Prebuilt Hardware for m0n0wall
>   On 5/24/07, Michael Riglin wrote:
>> I recently purchased my WRAP board from here:
>> http://siliconkit.dnsalias.com/cart/wrap.html
>   I don't doubt your account or your experience with them, but that's a
>   dynamic DNS name. I would *never* buy anything from any site that
>   uses
>   a DynDNS name. That just screams "I'm not serious about my company",
>   and gives me the feeling that they may disappear tomorrow. Not that
>   the same isn't possible with a registered domain, but I'd be less
>   hesitant if it had one. One could even CNAME a DynDNS name to a
>   registered domain, so it's not like it would even require a change in
>   hosting.
>   From the sounds of it this is a legit reseller, but I'd approach it
>   with serious caution.
>   -Chris

Richard St Clair,
Co-Founder & Internet Evangelist,
Internet Users Society Niue,
"To Provide Internet Access to Undeveloped Areas of the World"